E: Engine Liner/muff clearance

Cyborg

Well Known and Active Forum User
VOC Member
They look interesting. I haven't measured them, but they appear to be new. No cross hatch or scuffing inside under the copper. Don't currently have a plan to use them, but would most likely remove the copper first. Never read or heard mention of such a thing for cylinder liners.

Liner.jpg

Cyborg

VOC Member
I'm sure that is why they are plated and yes I believe it would work. If I end up using them at some point, it will be in new muffs, because I don't have any decent used ones. With new muffs, I would remove all of the plating because it shouldn't be required and it is starting to lift in some spots.

timetraveller

VOC Member
This is a decades old dodge for getting the liner to muff clearance of minus six thou correct. I have never seen it done but have known about it ever since I started learning about Vincents.

Vincent Brake

VOC Member
This is a decades old dodge for getting the liner to muff clearance of minus six thou correct. I have never seen it done but have known about it ever since I started learning about Vincents.
to continu it Norm;
in A wild dream, i did fit with -/-0,2 mm, then hone hot say 80 degree between presure plates, I woke up with a conical bore;)

bmetcalf

VOC Member
Justin Mackay-Smith has a thick Ali muff that he clamps around the liner when honing to dissipate the heat and prevent conical bores.

Cyborg

VOC Member