ET: Engine (Twin) Starting a twin

Sakura

Well Known and Active Forum User
Non-VOC Member
My Rapide has always been a pig to start. I've been working on bikes for 55 years and owned dozens of British bikes. Usual starting technique for everything is a bit of a tickle and a good kick. Unless something is seriously wrong it's usually first or second kick. Not so with my Rapide!
I've finally found the technique - close both chokes, no throttle, no tickle, don't even turn on the juice if it's been on in the last few days, ease over the two close compressions and give it a good kick. First or second kick and catch it on the throttle. It's not too rich, spits back if I open the chokes too quickly, new Amals, standard settings. I can't explain it, never known any bike to start like it. Even the slightest tickle and it doesn't want to know. Anybody got a reason for it?

nkt267

VOC Member
My Rapide has always been a pig to start. I've been working on bikes for 55 years and owned dozens of British bikes. Usual starting technique for everything is a bit of a tickle and a good kick. Unless something is seriously wrong it's usually first or second kick. Not so with my Rapide!
I've finally found the technique - close both chokes, no throttle, no tickle, don't even turn on the juice if it's been on in the last few days, ease over the two close compressions and give it a good kick. First or second kick and catch it on the throttle. It's not too rich, spits back if I open the chokes too quickly, new Amals, standard settings. I can't explain it, never known any bike to start like it. Even the slightest tickle and it doesn't want to know. Anybody got a reason for it?
No, but my comet is like that and the Rapide likes a good tickling:rolleyes:

passenger0_0

Non-VOC Member
My Rapide starts best with chokes only and no throttle so not all that different to yours. Maybe you could check the float level on both carbs if you need to have the fuel turned off as well?