FT: Frame (Twin) How Horrible of an Idea Is This?

Whiteshadow15

Well Known and Active Forum User
Non-VOC Member
So I’m certain I know the answer but still never hurts for other input. I recently acquired a red frame and unbeknownst to myself appears to have been laid down many years ago and the right lug took the brunt of the damage. I had planned on keeping the original paint intact and hate to put a brand new lug and have the rest original.

The frame appears to fortunately still be as straight as can be.

Any chance it’s safe to run it as is? How difficult would it be to not alter the rest of the paint with replacing?

Again, I’m certain replacing is the only answer.

9E162EF6-6CE2-4F13-8FA5-4576F27DA134.jpeg

Last edited by a moderator:

chankly bore

Non-VOC Member
I'm not an engineer's bootlace, but I wouldn't be happy running it because of the amount of tubing you've lost inside of the lug. Remember you've got up and down loading and load from the drive chain as well (unless it's a super rare red Comet!) Remember, even kickstarting on the stand stresses this area. I'd maybe find a place that professionally matches paint colour and then go and buy a new FT9R and get it professionally pinned and brazed.

Shane998

Non-VOC Member
So I’m certain I know the answer but still never hurts for other input. I recently acquired a red frame and unbeknownst to myself appears to have been laid down many years ago and the right lug took the brunt of the damage. I had planned on keeping the original paint intact and hate to put a brand new lug and have the rest original.

The frame appears to fortunately still be as straight as can be.

Any chance it’s safe to run it as is? How difficult would it be to not alter the rest of the paint with replacing?

Again, I’m certain replacing is the only answer.

View attachment 53756
The paint will be ok apart from close to the repair

Speedtwin

VOC Member
Agree,
Replace the FT9R.
Professional pin and braze.